The A, B, C and Ds of Medicare: What Covers What?

The A, B, C and Ds of Medicare: What Covers What?

- in Insurance, September/October 2016

Trying to figure out the different parts of Medicare can be confusing. That’s because each part (A, B, C and D) provides different benefits. When you’re ready to enroll, it’s important to understand those differences. Here’s the skinny:


Provided by the federal government at no cost to most people, Medicare Part A covers care you receive in a hospital, in a skilled nursing facility or through home health care and hospice care. You are eligible to begin receiving benefits when you turn 65.


An optional plan that requires a premium, Medicare Part B covers several medically necessary services that are not covered by Part A. These include outpatient care, ambulance services, durable medical equipment, preventive care and part-time intermittent home health/rehabilitative care. You can enroll in Part B at the same time you enroll in Part A.


You can get Medicare Part A and Medicare Part B together in a plan managed by a private insurance company, like Medical Mutual. This is known as Medicare Part C or Medicare Advantage. Offered in contract with the federal government, these plans offer additional benefits, like prescription drug coverage. Medicare Advantage plans may require a monthly premium in addition to the Original Medicare Part B premium. You must live within the plan’s service area.


Also offered by Medical Mutual and other private insurers, Medicare Part D is an optional prescription drug plan available to anyone enrolled in Medicare Parts A and B. Premiums and out-of-pocket expenses can vary depending on the plan you choose. You must live within the plan’s service area.

I hope this gives you a glimpse of all the parts of Medicare. With a little more research, you can learn more and decide what best fits your needs.

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like